Breaking News

Aubameyang, Mane Make PFA Team of The Year

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has joined Sadio Mane in the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Team of the Year, with Liverpool star Mohamed Salah not included in a star-studded XI.

Despite scoring 19 times and recording the most shots (132) in the 2019-20 season, the Egypt international seems not to have done enough to merit a place in the selection.

Reigning Premier League champions Liverpool dominate the selection, with Jurgen Klopp’s side seeing their efforts recognised in what was a record-setting campaign for the Reds.

In 35 appearances, Mane found the net 18 times in the English top-flight while providing seven assists.

Little wonder he leads a three-man attacking setup that has Aubameyang and Leicester City’s Jamie Vardy who won the Golden Boot prize with 23 strikes.

For Auba, 31, who has finished as Arsenal’s top scorer for each of the past two seasons, he got 22 Premier League goals, albeit, Mikel Arteta’s men finished in a disappointing eighth position having accrued 56 points from 38 games.

Manchester City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne who received the PFA Player of the Year award is picked alongside teammate David Silva and Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson in the midfield of the selection.

Virgil van Dijk, who was taken to Anfield in a £75 million ($97m) deal in January 2018, has been a revelation on Merseyside. His performances contributed significantly to Klopp’s side breaking their Premier League jinx.

The Netherlands international is partnered at the heart of the PFA team’s defence by Leicester City’s Caglar Soyuncu, with Andrew Robertson on the left and Trent Alexander-Arnold lining up on the right.

Behind them, Nick Pope of Burnley gets the nod over Manchester City’s Ederson despite the goalkeeper boasting more clean sheets than the Englishman.

No comments